Swaziland’s new name

This item appears on page 55 of the June 2018 issue.

To mark the 50th anniversary of the independence of Swaziland (granted on Sept. 6, 1968), an absolute monarchy in Southern Africa, the king declared on April 19 that the country’s official name would henceforth be the Kingdom of eSwatini (Land of the Swazis).