Kyrgyzstan visas

By Cynthia Rignanese
This item appears on page 16 of the June 2013 issue.

Travel in countries ending with the letters “stan” has always been challenging, particularly navigating the visa requirements. Kudos to Kyrgyzstan, which in 2012, I just learned, became the first “Stan” country to waive visa requirements for citizens of core nations, including the US.

For details on travel requirements for Kyrgyzstan, visit this page on the State Department website.


Winter Haven, FL

The seven “Stan” nations are Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.