Current warnings for May 2010

This item appears on page 19 of the May 2010 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 30 destinations: Iran, Kenya, Haiti, Mexico, Colombia, Eritrea, Central African Republic, Yemen, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Sudan, Somalia, Mauritania, Chad, Mali, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Algeria, Guinea, Lebanon, Côte d’Ivoire, Philippines, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Afghanistan, Burundi, Nigeria, Uzbekistan and Georgia.

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 800/232-4636 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at