Third of the World! Award

66 countries is your goal.

It takes planning, fortitude and a love of adventure to have traveled to One-Third of the independent countries on planet Earth. If you have been to 66 or more of the countries named on the list shown below, you qualify to apply for the ITN Third of the World! Award.

To see if you have qualified, print out The ITN Official List of Independent Sovereign Nations, shown below, and check off each country in which you have set foot at any time during your life, or simply make a list. (You're on the honor system here; we do not demand proof.)

If you have been to 66 or more of the countries on the list below (other than your own country) and you would like to receive a certificate attesting to that fact, put your checked list into an envelope addressed to ITN Third of the World! Award, c/o ITN, 2116 28th St., Sacramento, CA 95818, and enclose payment of $7 (per certificate). You may enclose a check (payable to ITN) or credit card info (Visa, M/C and AmEx accepted; include card number, expiration date and signature).

You will be sent a certificate measuring 8 1/2"x11", dated and personalized with your name, suitable for framing. It will be mailed flat (without creases). Your name will be printed among the names of the latest ITN Travel Award recipients in the next-printed issue of ITN.

In advance, congratulations! — Editor

The ITN Official List of Independent Sovereign Nations

NORTH AMERICA: Canada, Mexico, United States

MIDDLE AMERICA: Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago

SOUTH AMERICA: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

EUROPE: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City

ASIA/MIDDLE EAST: Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen

AFRICA: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Congo (Republic of), Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, eSwatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

OCEANIA: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau (Belau), Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu