Slovenian architect museum

This item appears on page 68 of the April 2016 issue.
This is subscriber only post.
Get one year of online-only access — only $15!
Below is a sample of the article.
Please login or subscribe to ITN to read the entire post.

If you would like to read an issue from the archives that is free to nonsubscribers click here.

In post-WWI Ljubljana, Slovenian architect Jože Plecnik designed and built many city landmarks in a neoclassic Greek style. Six works have been nominated for UNESCO World Heritage status, including, in Ljubljana, his promenade and bridges on the Ljubljanica River, the National & University Library, the Church of St. Francis, the Church of St. Michael and the Garden of All Saints in Žale Cemetery.

The architect's home, Plecnik House (Karunova 4-6, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia; phone +386 1 241 25 06, www.mgml.si/en/plecnik-house-503), includes three extensions designed and built by him: a glass patio, a conservatory and a cylindrical annex. Within the house can be found sketches, 3-D models and his personal library and art collection.

The house can be visited only by joining an hourly tour (available in English), 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Tues.-Sun. Including tour, admission costs 6.

Please login or subscribe to ITN to read the entire post.

In post-WWI Ljubljana, Slovenian architect Jože Plecnik designed and built many city landmarks in a neoclassic Greek style. Six works have been nominated for UNESCO World Heritage status, including, in Ljubljana, his promenade and bridges on the Ljubljanica River, the National & University Library, the Church of St. Francis, the Church of St. Michael and the Garden of All Saints in Žale Cemetery.

The architect's home, Plecnik House (Karunova 4-6, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia; phone +386 1 241 25 06, www.mgml.si/en/plecnik-house-503), includes three extensions designed and built by him: a glass patio, a conservatory and a cylindrical annex. Within the house can be found sketches, 3-D models and his personal library and art collection.

The house can be visited only by joining an hourly tour (available in English), 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Tues.-Sun. Including tour, admission costs 6.