Netherlands Antilles disbanding

This item appears on page 66 of the August 2010 issue.

The five Caribbean islands that make up the territory of the Netherlands Antilles, in the West Indies, have voted to change their status and, as of Oct. 10, 2010, no longer will be one political unit. 

Curaçao and Sint Maarten will govern themselves as autonomous countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Opting for closer ties to the Netherlands, the islands of Saba, Sint Eustatius and Bonaire will be special municipalities and governed directly by the Dutch government, although it has not been decided if they will adopt the euro or not as well as certain more lenient laws of the Netherlands.

All five islands will continue to be protected and represented in foreign affairs by the Dutch government.