Current warnings for August 2009

This item appears on page 22 of the August 2009 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 29 destinations: Sri Lanka, Yemen, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Pakistan, Mali, Chad, Nepal, Lebanon, Georgia, Sudan, Central African Republic, Colombia, Madagascar, Algeria, Eritrea, Syria, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Philippines, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Burundi, Côte d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Somalia, Kenya, Iran and Afghanistan. 

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 888/246-2675 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at