Current warnings for May 2009

This item appears on page 23 of the May 2009 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 29 destinations: Yemen, Colombia, Madagascar, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Algeria, Pakistan, Eritrea, Syria, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Philippines, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Burundi, Sri Lanka, Côte d’Ivoire, Georgia, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, Nepal, Somalia, Chad, Kenya, Iran, Lebanon, Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Iraq and Central African Republic. 

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit http://

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 888/246-2675 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at