Current warnings for February 2009

This item appears on page 23 of the February 2009 issue.

As ITN went to press, the State Department had travel warnings on 28 destinations: Sri Lanka, Côte d’Ivoire, Georgia, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, Nepal, Pakistan, Eritrea, Somalia, Chad, Kenya, Yemen, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan, Israel/West Bank/Gaza, Iran, Lebanon, Afghanistan, Algeria, Colombia, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Iraq, Haiti, Burundi, Syria, Central African Republic and Philippines.

For details, call the State Department at 202/647-5225 or visit

For health news, call the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention at 888/246-2675 or visit… or visit the World Health Organization website at